Transfiguration of the Savior, Prayer House in Zagoskino
In Zagoskino, in the 1960s, a magnificent church with three altars was destroyed. The village was known for its craftsmen: carpenters and builders. In the church of the village of Ignatov, there is an icon of the "Burnin…
Church of Peter and Paul in Edelyevo
To the west of Chirikeevo lies one of the most interesting places in the Main District, the area of Edelyevo. In 1653, here, on the banks of the river Jerusalemka, later renamed Russalimka, lands were allocated to seven …
Chapel at the Holy Spring in Tomylovo
This spring is respected and well-known, attracting not only local residents but also tourists, local historians, and believers. A beautiful hexagonal chapel with a dome and cross has been erected above the upper griffon…
Church of Nicholas the Wonderworker in Bolshoye Zherebyatnikovo (Lost)
The village of Zherebyatnikovo, located in the Mainsky District of the Ulyanovsk Region, was founded by a resident of the Simbirsk Province, A.E. Zherebyatnikov. He originally lived in the Nizhny Novgorod Province and wa…
Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Kivata
In 1744, the first church was built in the village. In 1875, a fire destroyed the second church. In 1890, parishioners erected a wooden church with the blessing of Bishop Varsonofy of Simbirsk and Syzran. The constructio…
Trinity Church in Annenkovo-Lesnoe (Lost)
The Trinity Church in the village of Annenkovo-Lesnoe was built in 1793 by Alexander Ivanovich Annenkov. Before that, there was a wooden church dedicated to the Life-Giving Trinity in the village. By 1917, in addition to…
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Ureno-Karlinskoye
In 1877, the parishioners of the village of Ureno-Karlinskaya Sloboda, the village of Voznesenskoye, Gorovka on the Urень River, and the village of Kholmogorskaya Sloboda on the Belый Urень River built a stone church wit…
Trinity Church in Tenkovka (Lost)
According to the "Statistical Description of Cathedrals, Monasteries, Parish and Domestic Churches of the Simbirsk Diocese based on data from 1900" by N. Bazhenov, the church was wooden and built in 1877. It had three al…
Church of the Epiphany of the Lord in Prislonikha
In the mid-17th century, on the territory known as the "wild fields," by the Kamenny Brod river, later named Maloye Urenye, the first houses of settlers from among the service and military people appeared. This marked th…
Church of Dmitry of Thessalonica in Potma
In 1677, a wooden church dedicated to Dmitry of Thessalonica was built. With the permission of the clergy, the village received a second name, Dmitrievskoye, in honor of the saint.
In the early 1860s, the church burned …