Church of the Ascension of the Lord in Borisoglebsky Murom Monastery (Lost)
In the land books of the Murom district for the years 1628-1629, the churches of the Borisoglebsky Monastery are mentioned: "In the monastery, there is a wooden church of the holy princes Boris and Gleb on the underpinni…
Church of the Nativity of Christ in Borisoglebsk
The first reliable mentions of the Borisogleb Monastery are found in the Nikon and Novgorod Fourth Chronicles and date back to the first half of the 14th century. The Vladimir Chronicle for the year 1346 states: "That sa…
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Borisoglebsk
The gate church of the Borisoglebsk monastery was built in 1699 by Matvey Dorofeyev, son of Volygin, in memory of his parents. In the 1930s, it was destroyed, leaving only a significant pile of rubble and part of a wall,…
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Borovitsy
In 1678, in Borovitsy, also known as Borovichi, a church in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker was mentioned according to the income books. It had the house of priest Alexander, the houses of deacons, and prosphor…
Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist in Aleshunino
A small wooden church with one dome and rectangular altar and narthex was consecrated on September 12, 2009, by Archbishop Evlogy of Vladimir. On Russia Day, which is a significant holiday for all Russians, the village o…
Ascension Church in Blagoveshchensk
In May 1936, the residents of the village of Blagoveshchensk in the Murom district tried to contest the decision to close their church. However, after an investigation conducted by the district prosecutor at the request …
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Stepankovo
The village of Stepankovo, located by the Dubrovka River, is 15 versts from the district town. Until 1764, it belonged to the Trinity-Sergius Monastery, but it is unknown when and by whom it was transferred. The church i…
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Urvanovo
The village of Urvanovo is located by Lake Urvanovskoye, 30 versts from the district town. In the land books of 1629 and 1630, it is mentioned as the property of the landowner family Durasev and the stolnik of Patriarch …
Church of Sergius of Radonezh in Pyangus
The village of Pyangus is located 20 versts from the district town and 125 versts from the provincial capital, near an unnamed swamp. In the past, the village and its surrounding villages were part of the palace Unzhensk…
Church of the Beheading of St. John the Baptist in Sinzhany
According to the scribal books of 1628 and 1630, the village of Sinzhany belonged to Prince Ivan Borisovich Cherkassky as a dowry estate, inherited from the boyar Vasily Petrovich Morozov. The village had the church of t…