Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Zimnitsy
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin, built in 1813, is an Orthodox single-altar warm church and is listed as an architectural monument of the Sursky District in the Ulyanovsk Region.
Currently, the buildin…
Church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Kezmino
More than three hundred years ago, on the banks of the Krasnaya Sosna River in the Simbirsk district, brothers Matvey and Vasily Kezmin founded a settlement for their serf peasants, transferred from the neighboring Kurmy…
Church of the Holy Trinity in Zhdamirovo
The exact time of the founding of the village of Zhdamirovo is unknown, but it already existed in the 17th century. The central part of the village was the market square, now known as Krasnaya Ploshchad Street. On this s…
Church of Nicholas the Wonderworker in Vypolzovo (Lost)
The village of Vypolzovo was founded in 1670 by the Utynsky nobility on lands received for service to the sovereign. Initially, it was named Blagoveshchenskoye and was located in the flood zone of the Barysh River. In sp…
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Baryshskaya Sloboda
A stone two-story church, built by the parishioners in 1752, according to a report from 1813, was constructed in 1743. On the upper floor is the altar dedicated to the Dormition of the Mother of God, while the altar on t…
Church of the Nativity of Christ in Baryshskaya Sloboda (Lost)
The Church of the Nativity of Christ is located in the village of Baryshskaya Sloboda, situated in the Sursky District of the Ulyanovsk Region, between the Sura and Barysh rivers. The first mentions of the settlement dat…
Church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Astradamovka
The village of Astradamovka, located in the Astradamov volost of the Alatyr district by the Yakla River, is first mentioned in documents from 1647. There is a legend about the founding of the village, according to which …
Church of Archangel Michael in Arkhangelsk (Ulyanovsk Region)
Grand Duke Alexei Mikhailovich granted land to a serving man, shooter Ivan Kunkin, by the White spring. Ivan Kunkin received this place instead of the extinct poor owners. A noble house and a house for the household peop…
Church of the Epiphany of the Lord in Staraia Maina
According to tradition, the village of Staraia Maina was founded between 1655 and 1661 by monks from the Kostroma Epiphany Monastery, which is why it was named Epiphany. This name was preserved until the 1917 revolution,…
Church of Nicholas the Wonderworker in Stara Gryaznukha (Lost)
The first wooden church in the name of Nicholas the Wonderworker was built in 1712, 38 years after the settlement was founded by immigrants from the Nizhny Novgorod region. The church underwent reconstructions and repair…