Klimetsky Trinity Monastery
Before the monastery was founded, there was an Orthodox Nyatina Desert on the island. The monastery was established in 1520 by the Karelian saint Jonah, the son of the Novgorod mayor Ivan Klimentyev. Under Jonah, wooden …
Church of Zacharias and Elizabeth in Klimenitsy
The Church of Saints Zacharias and Elizabeth is the first stone structure of the Holy Trinity Klimenets Monastery and, likely, the oldest stone building on Big Klimenets Island. Built in 1757 with funds donated by Empres…
Church of the Resurrection of Lazarus from Murom Monastery on Kizhi Island
The Lazarus Church of Murom Monastery is one of the oldest preserved wooden religious buildings in Russia. It was located on the southeast shore of Lake Onega and, according to legend, was built in the 14th century by mo…
Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin on Kizhi Pogost
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin, located next to the Transfiguration Church and forming a unified ensemble with it, was built 50 years later than its "neighbor." Its construction began in 1694, shortly …
Church of the Transfiguration on Kizhi Island
In April 2020, the restoration of the 22-domed Church of the Transfiguration of the Lord on Kizhi Island was completed. This unique temple was declared emergency and closed to visitors in 1980. In 1990, the Kizhi Pogost …
Chapel of Archangel Michael from Lelikozero on Kizhi Island
The Chapel of Archangel Michael was built in the village of Lelikozero in the last third of the 17th century and became part of the Velikogubsky parish from the 18th century. In 1961, it was relocated to Kizhi Island. Th…
Chapel of the Three Saints from Kavgora on Kizhi Island
The Chapel of the Three Saints, which is a wooden structure on a high foundation, is a monument of cultural heritage from the late 18th and early 19th centuries. The architectural composition of the chapel consists of tw…
Chapel of Kirik and Ulita in Vorobyah
The chapel belongs to the type of cell churches and consists of two parts built at different times: a prayer house from the late 18th century and a refectory with a vestibule separated by a crossbeam. Above the prayer ho…
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Vegoruksy
In Zaonezhye, 39 cult architectural objects have been preserved. Among them stands out the Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, located in the center of a group of villages later united under the name Vegoruksy. The …
Sergiev Skete on Putsaari Island
The Sergiev Skete is located on Putsaari Island, 18 km northwest of the Valaam Archipelago. The island was acquired in 1866 under the igumen Damaskin along with other islands of Northern Priladozhye. This territory has b…