preview
St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Church in Leski (in Ruins)
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker was built in 1866 with funds provided by merchant Isaac Andreevich Lantratov and parishioners from Tyukalinsky district. At that time, it was located in the village of Leskovsk…
preview
Cathedral of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Omsk
In our city, the second oldest Orthodox church after the Holy Nicholas Cossack Cathedral has been preserved, built during the pre-revolutionary times. The initiator of its construction in 1858 was the Governor-General of…
preview
Cathedral of the Resurrection of Christ in Omsk (lost)
The Resurrection Military Church, which became a cathedral in 1895, was built between 1769 and 1773. The architecture of the building combines transitional forms from Baroque to Classicism and elements of pre-Petrine arc…
preview
Cathedral of the Resurrection of Christ in Omsk
The Resurrection Military Cathedral became the first brick building in Omsk. Its construction was authorized by the Tobolsk Spiritual Consistory on April 18, 1769, and was completed in 1775. The laying of the church too…
preview
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God Sign in Omsk
In December 1913, a decision was made to build a church, for which the city is indebted to the recently appointed Bishop of Omsk and Pavlodar, Andronic (Vladimir Nikolsky). He brought the traditions of Veliky Novgorod to…
preview
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God 'Joy of All Who Sorrow' in Omsk
The first chapel on the territory of the military hospital was built in 1825, shortly after the hospital was relocated beyond the Omsk fortress to the Butyrsky fort on the right bank of the Om River. It was a wooden buil…
preview
Chapel of the Iveron Icon of the Mother of God in Omsk
The Chapel of the Iveron Icon of the Mother of God is located in Omsk, near the shopping center "Lyubinsky" and the monument "Merchant Woman and Photographer". The stone chapel, dedicated to the Iveron Icon of the Mothe…
preview
Kazan Icon of the Mother of God Cathedral in Omsk
The Kazan Monastery in Omsk began its history in the early 20th century when three nuns from the Sursky Theological Monastery moved from Arkhangelsk. With the blessing of John of Kronstadt, they established a religious a…
preview
St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Church in Omsk (Ignatovskaya)
In 1915, the Omsk Society of Banner Bearers requested a plot of city land for the construction of a church. The City Duma provided a plot of 1000 square fathoms with the condition of creating a public garden. The church…
preview
St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Church in Omsk
The history of Old Believers in Omsk began in the early 20th century, when only 10 families of Old Believers lived in the city. After the agrarian reform of Stolypin in 1905, about 50 supporters of "two-finger" baptism m…