preview
Ascension of the Lord Church in Engels
The church was built in the Russian settlement, where several Russian families, taking advantage of Catherine II's Manifesto, settled under the guise of Polish immigrants. Until 1811, they lived separately from the Littl…
preview
Church of Archangel Michael in Kvasnikovka (Lost)
In 1837, an Orthodox prayer house was built in the village, which was consecrated on March 12, 1839, by the blessing of Bishop Jacob of Tsaritsyn and Saratov as a temporary church in the name of Archangel Michael. This w…
preview
Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Khvalynsk
The stone church dedicated to the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, with a bell tower and fence, was built in 1849 with funds from parishioners of Khvalynsk and merchant Mikhail Alexandrovich Grigoryevsky from Rybinsk. The p…
preview
Unknown Chapel in Khvalynsk
The stone chapel, built in the early 20th century, was part of the architectural ensemble of the monastery and was located in its southeast corner. On the west side of the chapel was a stone wall with gates that served a…
preview
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God 'Life-Giving Spring' in Khvalynsk
In 1880, a stone church with an iron roof was built in Khvalynsk with funds from local merchants Nazariy Savinov and Yakov Khrenov, next to the prison castle. It had one altar dedicated to the Most Holy Theotokos, in hon…
preview
Cheremshan Monastery in Khvalynsk
In the 1840s, a merchant from Khvalynsk named Kuranov built a water mill and laid out an orchard in the upper reaches of the Cheremshan River. Later, this place was acquired by the Astrakhan merchant Arkhip Dmitrievich V…
preview
Merchant Smirnov's House in Borisoglebsk
Merchant Smirnov's House in Borisoglebsk is located at the corner of Soviet and Karl Marx streets. Built in the 1880s, it served as a residence for merchant Smirnov. From 1897 to 1917, it housed the first public library …
preview
Sergius of Radonezh Skete in Sunny Glade
In 1903, three versts from Khvalynsk, near a forest spring, the skete of the Holy Trinity Men's Monastery was founded. The following year, a stone church with a wooden bell tower and drum was built here, dedicated to St.…
preview
Church of Constantine and Helena in Severny
The village of Severny was founded on lands that previously belonged to the Counts Medem. In the 1870s, these lands were acquired by Count Otto Ludwigovich Medem along with his wife Alexandra Dmitrievna Naryshkina from m…
preview
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Popovka
The church dedicated to the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos was built in 1841. The wooden church, constructed in the village of Popovka in the Khvalynsky district of the Saratov province, came into being thanks to …