preview
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Korenskoe
The first wooden church dedicated to St. Nicholas the Wonderworker existed in Korenskoe as early as the first half of the 18th century. Presumably, by the 1770s, a new wooden church in honor of the Nativity of the Blesse…
preview
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Krupets
The stone Intercession Church in the village was built in 1837 with funds from Prince Baryatinsky, the owner of the Krupets district. According to eyewitnesses, the church looked very majestic: it had three domes, a bell…
preview
St. Michael the Archangel Church in Lokot
In the village of Lokot, a wooden church was originally built, which was closed in 1937. With the onset of war, services resumed in the church, but in the 1950s, the church was closed again. To preserve the icons and chu…
preview
St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Church in Makeevo
The St. Nicholas Church is located in the village of Makeevo, presumably built in 1859. After the revolution, it was closed and remained partially destroyed until the 1960s. Later, the dome was destroyed, and the church …
preview
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Nekrasovo
The village of Nekrasovo in the Rylsk district of the Kursk province, like many other villages in Russia, has its own unique history. In the early 20th century, the local landowners Volzhins built a stone church here, bu…
preview
Rylsk Saint Nicholas Monastery
The history of the monastery goes back to a distant past. Some researchers believe that the monastery, originally called the Volyn Desert, emerged at the turn of the 14th-15th centuries, however, the first written mentio…
preview
Cathedral of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker of Rylsk
The main church of the monastery was built in 1753 under the abbot Matfei (Lukashev), who requested permission for construction from the Moscow Spiritual Consistory. It is the largest two-story building. The first floor …
preview
Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross of the Rylsk St. Nicholas Monastery
The first stone church in the monastery was built on the site of the old wooden St. Nicholas church with an altar in honor of St. George the Victorious. The initiator of the construction was the Rylsk merchant Prokofy Ge…
preview
Holy Trinity Church of the Rylsk St. Nicholas Monastery
The Trinity Church, the second stone church, was built in 1747 by order of the Moscow Spiritual Consistory at the request of the landowner from Putivl and Rylsk, Anna Zabelina, sister of the abbot Hieromonk Matfei (Lukas…
preview
Bell Tower of the Rylsk Saint Nicholas Monastery
The five-tiered bell tower with a lower tier housing the Holy Gates serves as the main entrance to the monastery. It is first mentioned in descriptions from 1764, but experts believe it was built in 1740. The diminishing…