preview
Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Zelenzovo
According to Vladimir Nikolaevich Ivan tsov, a resident of the village of Zelenzovo, there was a wooden church here in the 17th century. In the 19th century, at the request of the parishioners and with their support, the…
preview
Church of the Resurrection of Christ in Zhaisk
The village of Zhaisk is located on the Oka River. In the land books of 1629-1630, the village of Zhaisk is mentioned, granted to the boyar Mikhail Borisovich Shein. At that time, the village had 19 peasant households, 7…
preview
Chapel of Peter and Fevronia in Zhaisk
In the village of Zhaisk, a chapel has been built at a site that has long been called "Prince's Forgiveness." Here, one can recall the legend of Peter and Fevronia: after being exiled from Murom, they made a second stop …
preview
Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God, Prayer House in Epifanovo
In the mid-18th century, according to popular legend, in 1750, a miracle occurred in the village of Georgievskoe: a shepherd, while driving his flock, discovered the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God on a wild apple tree…
preview
Church of St. George the Victorious in Dyakovo
The history of the Dyakovo church and its parish begins in the second half of the 17th century. The land registry books of 1676 mention that "the settlement of Dyakovo on the Kutreny heights" was among the State's plowed…
preview
Church of the Nativity of Christ in Davydovo (Vachsky District)
The Nizhny Novgorod State Archive has preserved a clerical ledger from 1790, which mentions the Davydovo Pokrovskaya Church. In the "Report of the Gorbatov District" from 1859, related to the village of Dalshee Davydovo,…
preview
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Golyanishchevo (Lost)
The land books of 1629 and 1630 indicate that the palace village of Golyanishchevo was transferred to the estate of boyar Mikhail Borisovich Shein. At that time, the village had 27 peasant households, 12 landless househo…
preview
Church of Dmitry of Thessalonica in Vacha
In the land registry books of the palace estates from 1676, it is mentioned that there were two wooden churches in Vacha. One of them, the old church in the name of Dmitry of Thessalonica, was built in the late 1560s, bu…
preview
The Church of St. Dimitri of Rostov in Kotovka (Lost)
The consistory extract dated February 22, 1844, reports that representatives of the society of state peasants from the village of Bogoyavlenskaya, also known as Kotovka, Fedot Rykunov and Grigory Chuykov, appealed to the…
preview
Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos in Bolshoye Zagariino
The land registry book of the Murom villages mentions that the church in the village of Bolshoye Zagariino was wooden and built in 1658. Before this time, Zagariino was considered a village belonging to the Lipovitsky pa…