How 150 Cossack Women Routed a 9,000-Strong Enemy Army
In the 1770s, unusual conversations could be heard in Chechnya. Russians, upon meeting a mountaineer with a burned face, jokingly asked: "What, friend, were you not eating soup in Naura?" A traveler unfamiliar with local…
The Most Cunning Escape from the GULAG
In the history of the GULAG, there were several desperate and daring escapes, but one of the most meticulously planned and clever occurred in July 1934. Three well-known prisoners, the Solonevich brothers, escaped from t…
Kazan Icon of the Mother of God Church in Smoldeyaro
The three-altar church, built between 1903 and 1905, with some sources stating that construction was completed in 1903, was funded by the Kazan merchant P.V. Shchetinkin near the Orenburg tract. In the north-western corn…
Church of the Transfiguration in Bolshie Kabany
The parish in Kabany appeared as early as the late 16th century, but the current church, judging by its architecture, was built in the first half of the 18th century, likely funded by the archbishopric, which owned the v…
Church of the Kazan Saints in Stolbishche
The first wooden church dedicated to the Kazan saints Guriy, German, and Varsanofiy was built in the first half of the 18th century. The stone temple in their honor appeared only by 1825.
In 1845, a side chapel was adde…
Saint Peter and Paul Cathedral in Kazan
A wooden church stood on the site of the current cathedral since 1565. The history of the new temple is linked to Peter I, who visited Kazan from May 27 to 30, 1722, during his Persian campaign. This was his third visit …
Bell Tower of St. Peter and Paul Cathedral in Kazan
Shortly after the completion of the cathedral, a 49-meter six-level bell tower was erected to the northeast of it. On the second tier, in the niches of the southeast and northwest corners of the square, there were sculpt…
Geological Museum in Kazan
The Kazan Geological Museum named after A.A. Shtukenberg, one of the oldest in Russia, was founded in 1804 at Kazan Imperial University. Its collection began to form in the 18th century at Kazan Gymnasium. Based on this …
Slava Zaitsev's Art Gallery in Kazan
The gallery was founded in June 2016 by Vyacheslav Evgenievich Zaitsev. Initially, it was located in the shopping center "Respublika," and in January 2018, it moved to "GUM" on Bauman Street. Since 2019, the gallery has …
Raifa Monastery's Kazan Courtyard
The Kazan courtyard was transferred to the Raifa Mother of God Men's Monastery in 1998, and in 2000 it found new life. Previously, the courtyard was home to the Church of the Moscow Miracle Workers, which was completely …