Temple of Prince Alexander Nevsky
The first temple of the future monastery, dedicated to the righteous great prince Alexander Nevsky, was consecrated on August 30, 1819, by Archpriest Athinogen Pechersky from Pavlovsk.
After nearly a hundred years of ab…
The Assumption Cathedral of the Holy Assumption Divnogorsk Monastery
The wooden Assumption church was built in the monastery a few years after its founding and consecrated in 1659. It stood for almost a hundred years, but in 1751 (according to other sources, in 1755) it was dismantled due…
Divnogorsk Uspensky Monastery
On the right bank of the Don River, in the Liski district, above the confluence of the Tikhaya Sosna River, lies the Divnogorsk Uspensky Monastery. The area is adorned with two groups of chalk pillars known as the Small …
Bell Tower of the Holy Assumption Divnogorsk Monastery
In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, during the peak of the monastery's prosperity and fame, its territory was triangular, bordered to the north by a brick wall. The main compositional axis, clearly oriented from n…
Church of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist
The cave church in the Divnogorsk Assumption Monastery, dedicated to the Nativity of St. John the Baptist, is carved into the rock at the top of a mountain, over 40 fathoms above the level of the Don River. The entrance …
Church of the Sicilian Icon of the Mother of God
In 1758, on the site of the old wooden Nikolskaya church, with the blessing of Bishop Kirill (Lyashevetsky) of Voronezh, Archimandrite Theodosius consecrated a new warm stone church in honor of the Vladimir Icon of the M…
Kostomarovsky Spassky Monastery
Located 150 kilometers south of Voronezh is the Holy Spassky Women's Monastery, one of the oldest Russian monasteries, founded even before the official acceptance of Christianity in Rus. Here lies the famous Cave of Repe…
Kazan Icon of the Mother of God Church in Berdy, Orenburg
The stone church, built in 1824, was a single-altar and very cramped. With the increase in the number of parishioners, it became evident that it needed to be expanded. In 1855, thanks to the efforts of priest Alexander K…
Church of Cyril and Methodius at the Former First Men's Gymnasium in Orenburg
In 1876, a single-altar church in honor of the Slavic educators Cyril and Methodius was built in the two-story building of the Orenburg Men's Gymnasium, under the direction of the director, actual state councilor Andrei …
House Church of Constantine and Helena at the Former Spiritual School in Orenburg
The stone church in honor of the holy equal-to-the-apostles Constantine and Helena was built in 1905 thanks to the efforts of the clergy of the Orenburg Spiritual School District. The church had one altar and was well su…