Church of the Nativity of Christ in Roshdestvo
Located 80 kilometers from Yaroslavl, in the village of Roshdestvo in the Bolsheselskoy district of the Yaroslavl region, stands an ancient church dedicated to the Nativity of Christ. Built in 1794, it was supplemented w…
Trinity Church in Novo (Bolsheselsk District)
In 1658, Metropolitan Ion Sysoevich of Rostov issued a decree for the construction of a wooden church. The exact date of its reconstruction in stone is unknown, but it is believed to have occurred in the mid-18th century…
Church of the Beheading of John the Baptist in Nikolo-Moloksha
There is a legend about the creation of this temple. Long ago, a fire broke out in the village of Nikolo-Moloksha, and the locals turned to Saint Nicholas for help. Their prayers were heard, and the fire was extinguished…
Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Mikhaltsevo
The church in the village of Mikhaltsevo was founded in 1740 and has two altars: one in honor of the Kazan Mother of God, the other for the Archangel Michael.
The Kazan church, built of stone, is a parish church and ope…
Church of Leontius of Rostov in Leontievsky
In the first half of the 16th century, a wooden church dedicated to Bishop Leontius, the heavenly patron of the Rostov land, who was killed by pagans in 1071, stood at the site of the Leontievsky burial ground. Over time…
Church of Archangel Michael in Leontievsky
The Church of Archangel Michael, which is the second church of the Leontievsky parish, was built in 1801 with funds from a prosperous peasant from the neighboring village of Zaykovo, M.V. Oreshnikov.
The architecture of…
Dmitriev Local History Museum Named After A. F. Vangenheim
In 1919, at the initiative of the local intelligentsia, the Dmitriev Museum of Local Lore was established under the Department of Public Education. The first director was A. F. Vangenheim, an inspector of the Department …
Church Complex of St. Michael and St. Leontius in Leontievsky
The village has two churches: Leontievskaya and Mikhailovskaya, both built of stone and known for their durability. The Leontievskaya church has two altars: a summer one dedicated to St. Leontius, the Rostov Miracle Work…
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Ilyinsk
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is a parish church that operates both in summer and winter. It was built with the funds of parishioners in 1755. The summer church is dedicated to the Assumption of…
Church of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God in Ilyinskoye
The village has two stone churches. One of them, the parish summer church in honor of the Vladimir Mother of God, was built in 1785 by Princess Yevdokiya Petrovna Vyazemskaya. This church has two chapels: in honor of the…