preview
Cathedral of the Holy Trinity of the Raifa Monastery
The cathedral in honor of the Life-Giving Trinity was built in 1910 according to the design of architect F.N. Malinovsky. The church was known for its amazing acoustics, which allowed the singing of four monks in the cho…
preview
Cathedral of the Georgian Icon of the Mother of God in Raifa
The main shrine of the Raifa desert became the miraculous Georgian icon of the Mother of God, a copy of the Krasnogorsk image. Igumen Vsevolod Zakharov, now archimandrite, was appointed the abbot of the monastery. On Au…
preview
Church of the Holy Fathers in Sinai and Raifa
The Church in honor of the Holy Fathers, who suffered in Sinai and Raifa, was built on the site of the first wooden church and consecrated in 1708. Later, the building was reconstructed according to the designs of A.G. N…
preview
Bell Tower of Raifa Bogoroditsky Monastery
The last buildings of the Raifa Desert were the bell tower with the gate church in honor of the Archangel Michael and the Trinity Cathedral. The construction of the bell tower began in 1889 thanks to the funding and cont…
preview
Church of Faith, Hope, Love, and their Mother Sophia
The church and the brotherhood building were erected in the late 17th and early 18th centuries. The small temple was originally consecrated in the name of Alexius, the Man of God. In 1794, when the building and church ha…
preview
Chapel on the South Wall of Raifa Bogoroditsky Monastery
Unfortunately, we could not obtain reliable information about this structure from the monastery's inhabitants. It is believed that there once was a domestic chapel here, where the elders prayed, while the other brothers …
preview
Holy Water Chapel of Raifa Monastery
The holy water chapel at the Raifa Monastery is open daily from 7:00 AM to 8:45 PM, consecrated in 1997 by Patriarch Alexy II of Moscow and all Russia. Since ancient times, water has symbolized purification, especially …
preview
Church of John the Theologian in Bolshie Klyuchi
Originally, the church was built of wood in the village of Ivanovskoye in the Kazan district in 1741, but it burned down in 1821. At that time, Ivanovskoye had 47 households with 148 men and 152 women, while Klyuchi had …
preview
St. Andrew the First-Called Church in Zelenodolsk
The construction of the Andrew Church began in 1999, but due to a lack of funds, it was delayed for 12 years. During this time, a temporary chapel in honor of St. John of Kronstadt was built, where regular services were …
preview
Church of the Prophet Elijah in Ilyinskoye (Zelenodolsky District)
The first church in Ilyinskoye, built in the 1780s, was wooden. Over time, it became cramped, and it was rebuilt. On January 6, 1816, the church burned down as a result of a fire. In 1821, the parishioners decided to co…