Sorrowful Monastery in Nizhny Tagil
According to local legend, in 1855, Archimandrite Israel, the abbot of the Oten Monastery near Novgorod, erected a cross at the site of the future Sorrowful Women's Monastery and placed stones from Jerusalem at its base.…
Cathedral of the Holy Trinity in Nizhny Tagil
In the late 17th century, Old Believers settled in hard-to-reach places along the rivers Visim, Shaitanka, Sulatka, Utka, and other corners of what would become the Nizhny Tagil mining district. They brought their way of…
Church of the Prophet Elijah in Elizabethin
In a small settlement, previously known as the village of Bobrovka, services began in 1890 when the long construction of the rural church was completed. The church was consecrated in the name of the Holy Prophet Elijah a…
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Klenovskoye
The St. Nicholas Church in the village of Klenovskoye belongs to the rotunda type and was built in 1842 thanks to the efforts of the parishioners. According to legend, the idea for its construction belongs to Alexander I…
Alexander Nevsky Church in Shurala
The village of Shurala was founded in 1716 when the Shuralin factory, owned by Nikita Demidov, began operations here. Later, the factory was transferred to the Ural industrialist and merchant Savva Yakovlev. After the ir…
Trinity Men's Monastery in Taraskovo
The monastery was founded in 2003 on the basis of the rural Holy Trinity parish. The history of this parish is similar to that of many others that faced oppression during the Soviet era. The main church of the monastery,…
Transfiguration Cathedral in Nizhny Tagil
Among all the mining industrialists, the legendary Demidovs were the first in the Urals to obtain the much-needed cast iron. This happened at the Nizhny Tagil, then state-owned, factory on December 15, 1701.
In those da…
Church of the Resurrection of the Word in Verkh-Neyvinsky
In the Verkh-Neyvinsky factory, from the very beginning of its existence, many schismatics of the Old Believer sect lived under the protection of the factory managers. In the 1820s, a runaway priest, Paramon Lebedev from…
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Byn'gi
In January 1697, an important report arrived in Moscow from the voivode of Verkhoturye, Dmitry Protasyev: iron ore had been found on the Neva River, in the Ural Mountains. Samples of the ore were attached to the report. …
Church of the Conception of John the Baptist in Verkhnyaya Barancha
The Verkhnebaranchinsky ironworks and the settlement established in 1806 were traditionally supposed to have their own church, and so it happened. Those who have been to Plotinka have seen the ruins of this church and co…