preview
Church of the Entry of the Most Holy Theotokos in Verkhnesmorodino
The church, founded in 1872, was built with the funds of the parishioners. It has three altars: the central one is consecrated in honor of the Entry of the Most Holy Theotokos, the southern one in honor of the Beheading …
preview
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God 'Joy of All Who Sorrow' in Vozy
The parish began to form in 1999, and since then, services have been held in a rented space owned by OAO 'Vozovselmash'. The church does not have a Sunday school, however, discussions for adults are held before the sacra…
preview
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God 'Sign' in Igishev
The Znamensky parish was founded in 1907 and restored in 1995. Information about its pre-revolutionary life has not been preserved. During the Soviet era, the church building was converted first into a school and then in…
preview
Holy Trinity Church in Karpunevka
Historical records about the church have not survived in the archives, but according to local residents, it was founded in 1875. Initially, the church was wooden, and the altar was consecrated in honor of Saint Demetrius…
preview
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Olkhovatka
In the village of Olkhovatka, there were once two Orthodox churches: one dedicated to the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary and the other to the Epiphany of the Lord. In the 1930s, the Nativity church was repurposed by…
preview
The Church of the Icon of the Mother of God 'Znamenie' in Ponyry
At the beginning of the last century, the residents of the young settlement built a church, which was soon destroyed in the early twenties by order of the new authorities. The church was dismantled brick by brick. Paris…
preview
The Assumption Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Bobryshevo
Several hundred years ago, the residents of the village of Bobryshevo built a wooden church behind "Vasin's Hollow." One day, it burned down due to candles left burning after a wedding. In 1821, a stone church with a be…
preview
Symbol of Tsaritsyn: Gerhardt Mill
One of the symbols of the Battle of Stalingrad is the building at 47 Chuykov Street. Many tourists still confuse it with the Pavlov House, but any resident of Volgograd will easily say that this is the Gerhardt Mill. It …
preview
Church of Sergius of Radonezh in Peski
The village of Peski, located by the Kryakovka River, is 7 versts from the district town and 110 versts from the provincial capital. According to the clerical books from 1637-1647, the village of Peski belonged to Lev Zh…
preview
Church of Siluan of Athos in Perovo
The village of Perovo, located near Gorokhovets, is known for its main attraction, Perunya Mountain, from which the village gets its name. On this mountain stood the church of Siluan of Athos. The mountain was named afte…