Chapel of the Protection of the Holy Virgin in Borisovka
The stone church, cold to the touch, was built in 1838 with funds from the parishioners. It has two altars: the main one is dedicated to the Protection of the Holy Virgin, and the side altar is dedicated to the Kazan Ico…
Church of St. Demetrius of Thessalonica in Staro-Khmelevoye
In 2010, a new church was consecrated in the village of Staro-Khmelevoye in the Michurinsk district in honor of the great martyr Demetrius of Thessalonica.
The village of Staro-Khmelevoye was founded in 1636-1637 when t…
St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Church in Koroche
The church in honor of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, built in the 1840s, replaced the previous wooden Nicholas church mentioned since 1644. The completion date varies: some documents indicate 1844, while others state 18…
Historical and Art Museum in Morshansk
The museum was founded in 1918 by self-taught archaeologist, artist, and local historian Pyotr Petrovich Ivanov in the building of the former shop of the Kaverin merchants. Since 1912, Ivanov had been striving to open a …
Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Koroch
The brick church in eclectic style, having a cross-shaped plan and likely topped with a dome, was built in the second half of the 19th century.
A map of the Kursk province, compiled by A. Wilbrecht in 1792, indicates th…
Alexey Ivanovich Putilov on the Revolution
The days of tsarist power are numbered, and it has disappeared irretrievably. Tsarist power was the foundation on which Russia stood, supporting its national integrity. Now the revolution is inevitable and is only waitin…
Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Cathedral in Koroch
The stone cathedral of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in 1883 on the site of an older 18th-century church. This impressive brick structure is executed in an eclectic style, combining elements of classi…
Church of Saints Peter and Paul in Koshcheyevo
The village of Koshcheyevo was founded in 1662. The first settlers lived in earthen dwellings called "yamki," which gave the village its original name Yamki, later changed to Koshcheevka. In the 19th century, they active…
St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Church in Lomovo
On May 22, 2012, the St. Nicholas Church in the village of Lomovo celebrated its 200th anniversary. During the restoration of the church in 1998, a metal plaque was discovered under the floor with the date "1730", presum…
Castle of Preussisch Eylau
In 1325, by order of the Grand Master of the Teutonic Order Werner von Orseln, Master Arnold von Eylenshtein began the construction of the Ile Castle on the site of the former Prussian fortress Sutwrit. The knights built…