Ded Moroz's Residence in Veliky Ustyug
It is known that the Russian Ded Moroz resides in his fairy-tale tower in the center of his homeland. However, this was not always the case. Twenty years ago, he welcomed guests at his residence in Veliky Ustyug. Over ti…
Church of Leontius of Rostov in Veliky Ustyug
On the northern embankment of Veliky Ustyug stands the Leontievskaya Church. Previously, there were two wooden churches here: a cold one dedicated to Leontius of Rostov the Miracle Worker, and a warm one in honor of Sain…
Church of Elijah the Prophet in Veliky Ustyug
The first mention of the Elijah Church appears in the Hundred Book of 1630. It states: "Beyond the stockade, upstream on the Sukhona River, stands a wooden church of Elijah the Prophet, as well as a warm wooden church of…
Assumption-Nikolai Cathedral of the Marfo-Mariinsky Monastery in Belgorod
The Assumption-Nikolai Cathedral is the oldest stone church preserved in the Belgorod region. According to data from the 'Description of the Kursk Province' compiled by Ivan Bashilov in 1785, its construction took place …
Church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Belgorod
The church is first mentioned in 1626 in the Pistsovye books of Kerekreysky V.A., which states: "The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos, and in the church are icons, candles, books, vestments, bells, a…
Mikhailo-Arkhangelsky Men's Monastery in Veliky Ustyug
According to church legends and hagiographic data, this monastery is the oldest in the Russian North and was founded in 1212 by monk Cyprian during the reign of Prince Konstantin Vsevolodovich of Rostov. The Veliky Ustyu…
Cathedral of Archangel Michael in Veliky Ustyug
The Archangel Cathedral is a five-domed rectangular building with a symmetrical layout, where the altar is separated from the main part of the church by a wall. A two-story gallery adjoins the cathedral on three sides, w…
Church of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the Mikhailo-Arkhangelsky Monastery
The wooden Church of the Presentation was built by Kypriyan between 1212 and 1216, simultaneously with the founding of the monastery. On May 26, 1651, Metropolitan Varlaam of Rostov and Yaroslavl issued a blessing for th…
Church of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God in the Mikhailo-Arkhangelsky Monastery
The church in honor of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God, known as the Vladimir Narthex Church, was built in 1682 in the Mikhailo-Arkhangelsky Monastery. Archbishop Gelasius of Veliky Ustyug and Totma blessed its co…
Chapel of the Royal Martyrs and New Martyrs of Russia in Belgorod
The chapel dedicated to the Royal Martyrs and New Martyrs was built and consecrated on July 17, 1999, by Archbishop John of Belgorod and Stary Oskol. The project was developed by architect V.Ya. Busygin.
A burial site f…