preview
Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery
The Assumption Church, adorned with icons and other beauties, existed for a short time. According to tradition, it burned down as a result of a severe fire that occurred between 1462 and 1497. In 1462, Pachomius the Serb…
preview
Church of Euphemia of the Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery
In the southeastern part of the Great Assumption Monastery lies an interesting architectural complex consisting of two spacious chambers connected by a vestibule and covered by a common roof. From the vestibule, a covere…
preview
Church of Epiphanius of the Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery
The Church of Epiphanius of Cyprus was built in 1645 next to the Church of Vladimir, on the site of the burial of Prince Fyodor Andreyevich Telyatevsky. Its construction was carried out by a team of village stonemasons f…
preview
Church of John Climacus at Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery
The Church of John Climacus, built in 1572 with funds from the sons of Ivan the Terrible, princes Ivan and Fyodor, has a main altar and an aisle dedicated to the saints John Climacus and Fyodor Stratilates. The church st…
preview
Church of John the Baptist at Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery
The Church of John the Baptist with the chapel of St. Cyril of Belozersk was built and consecrated simultaneously with the Church of Archangel Gabriel between 1531 and 1534. It was located outside the monastery walls on …
preview
Chapel of Cyril of Belozersk
According to the life of St. Cyril of Belozersk, the wooden chapel was built by Cyril himself when he arrived at Belozero in 1397. The modern structure is later, but likely retains the overall architectural style of the …
preview
Church of Cyril of Belozersk
The church of St. Cyril of Belozersk was first built in 1585-1587 over the grave of the monastery's founder. Its construction was linked to the dissatisfaction expressed by Ivan IV in a letter from 1573 to the abbot Kozm…
preview
Church of the Transfiguration at Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery
The water gates with the church of the Transfiguration of the Lord represent one of the most impressive architectural objects of the Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery. They are especially memorable in the summer when the gate…
preview
Church of the Placement of the Robe from Borodava Village
The Church of the Placement of the Robe was moved from the village of Borodava in 1957 to the territory of the Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery. It is the oldest precisely dated monument of Russian wooden architecture. An an…
preview
Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh at Kirillo-Belozersky Monastery
The Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh with a refectory was built on the territory of the Ivanovsky Small or Gorniy Monastery, which was part of the Kirillo-Belozersky monastery complex. Initially, the Ivanovsky Monastery…