preview
Spaso-Preobrazhensky Monastery in Neshcherov
According to one version, the name of the village is connected to the name "Nestor," which in Ukraine sounded like "Neshchir." In 1794, landowner Ivan Pavlovich Gudim-Levkovich built a stone church of the Transfiguration…
preview
Transfiguration Church in Neshcheriv
The first mention of the Orthodox Spaso-Transfiguration wooden church in the village of Neshcheriv dates back to 1735. In 1742, the church suffered from a fire, but in 1746, thanks to the efforts of Kyiv Cossack captain …
preview
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Tulintsy
According to church archives, a new church was built in Tulintsy in 1740 on the site of an old one. It was dismantled and rebuilt in 1779, and on February 7, 1784, the temple was consecrated. Historical documents stored …
preview
Church of Archangel Michael from Dorohynky in Pyrohiv
Until recently, there were several versions regarding the age of the Church of Saint Archistrategos Michael. The well-known Ukrainian local historian of the 19th century, Leontiy Pokhylevych, dated the Dorohynka church t…
preview
St. Andrew's Church in Kyiv
The last church named the Exaltation of the Cross burned down in 1677. In 1690, the first wooden St. Andrew's Church appeared on its site, which eventually fell into ruin. An Andrew's cross was erected on the hill. In th…
preview
Church of the Transfiguration in Malo-Atylm (lost)
The village of Malo-Atylmskoye is located on the Ob River. Here stands a wooden single-story church, built between 1851 and 1853, with two altars: in honor of the Transfiguration of the Lord and Archangel Michael. In the…
preview
Church of the Resurrection of Christ in Sumy
The cornerstone of the Resurrection Church, the first stone temple in Sumy, was laid by Colonel Gerasim Kondratiev 30 years after the founding of the city. The site for construction was wisely chosen on a hill by the Str…
preview
Lokosovo. Church of the Epiphany of the Lord
Lokosovo is considered one of the oldest rural settlements in the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug, Yugra. Its history begins with the construction of the Epiphany Church in 1716 on a high bank of the Ob River, 100 kilomete…
preview
Church of Elijah the Prophet in Sumy
The first wooden Elijah church was built before 1705. In the same year, priest Antoniy Slovynskyi was appointed to the church, who became the archpriest of the Sumy cathedral in 1721. According to the 1732 census, two pr…
preview
St. Peter and Paul Church in Sumy
By decree of June 13, 1839, the construction of a cemetery church in honor of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul was permitted. The Sumy merchant Fyodor Sapozhkov initially donated 500 thousand rubles for the construction …