Church of Cosmas and Damian in Zarechny (Lost)
The Church of Cosmas and Damian in Zarechny was built in 1786 through the efforts of the parishioners. In 1865, the Cosmas-Damian Church was renovated and repaired, and then underwent major repairs again in 1876 and 1881…
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Balashov (Lost)
Before the revolution, on the site of the kindergarten "Pchelnka," previously known as school No. 10, stood the cemetery church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, built in 1858. Next to the church was a cemete…
Cathedral of Archangel Michael in Balashov
In 1908, a Baptist prayer house was built in Balashov. This spacious and solid building was constructed with funds donated by Zakhar Ivanovich Smirnov. The house, made of white and red bricks, was adorned with crenellate…
Trinity Cathedral in Balashov (Lost)
In the early 20th century, the Holy Trinity Cathedral was named the main treasure of Balashov in the "Passenger's Guide to the South-Eastern Railways." The cathedral, known from old postcards, was built in 1886 and conse…
St. Michael the Archangel Church in Balashov (Lost)
The St. Michael the Archangel Church, the oldest in the city, was built in 1768 and restored in 1837. This wooden structure made of oak, covered with shingles and adorned with various patterns on its surface, stood on a …
The Church of Elijah the Prophet in Balashov (Lost)
The Ilyinskaya Church was built in 1844 thanks to the efforts of all the city's residents. It was made of stone and sturdy, with five altars: the main one and four in the chapels. In the cold chapels were the altars of S…
Cathedral of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Balashov (Lost)
The Intercession Church, previously located at the Balashov Intercession Women's Monastery, was built thanks to the efforts of Balashov merchant Illarion Ivanovich Ivanov and consecrated on July 13, 1862. It was made of …
Irgyzsky Voskresensky Male Monastery in Beregovoy
Catherine's manifesto from December 4, 1762, allowed Old Believers to freely return to Russia and settle on the left bank of the Volga. They were allocated 70 thousand desyatins of fertile land on the Irgyz River. Old Be…
Kazan Icon of the Mother of God Church in Bykov Otróg (Lost)
The village of Bykov Otróg was founded in 1748 by settlers from the Volsky district, who were relocated to the left bank of the Volga due to a lack of land. In 1783, the locals built the first wooden Orthodox church with…
Church of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Krivoluchye-Sura (Lost)
Until 1899, Old Believers of the Belokrinitsky agreement held services in private homes, and then began gathering in the public house of N. S. Toreev. However, on August 15, 1900, this house was sealed by the bailiff. In…