preview
Ascension Women's Monastery in Tambov
The Ascension Monastery was founded in 1690 by Bishop Pitirim of Tambov and Kozlov on the northern outskirts of the city, at the confluence of the Studenets and Gavryushka rivers. The first abbess was his sister Catherin…
preview
Ascension Cathedral of the Ascension Women's Monastery in Tambov
From the Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral, the colorful domes, reminiscent of St. Basil's Cathedral, and the five-tiered bell tower of the Ascension Cathedral of the same-name monastery are clearly visible. The Ascension M…
preview
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God of All Who Sorrow at the Ascension Women's Monastery in Tambov
The Church of the Icon of the Mother of God "All Who Sorrow" is located on the grounds of the Ascension Tambov Women's Monastery. The stone church, dedicated to the icon of the Mother of God "All Who Sorrow," with chape…
preview
Church of John of Kronstadt at the Ascension Women's Monastery in Tambov
The stone church dedicated to the righteous John of Kronstadt was added to the eastern side of the monastic building in 1997-1998. The foundation of its unusual architectural composition is a tall cubic volume, on which …
preview
House Church of Anthony of Pechersk in Tambov
The house church was located in a large three-story stone building intended for the residence of elderly sisters who could no longer work. In 1918, this building was transferred to the city’s secondary school. To this da…
preview
Ascension Cathedral of the Ascension Women's Monastery in Tambov
The first stone church of the monastery, dedicated to the Ascension of the Lord, was laid in 1791 in the southern part of the monastery. The architects were the novice of the Sarov Monastery, Nafanael, and the local mast…
preview
Chapel over the Grave of Nun Miropia at the Ascension Monastery in Tambov
In the first half of the 19th century, monastic life was marked by the arrival of nun Miropia Adenkova, whose name is associated with the glorification of the miraculous Vyshenskaya Kazan Icon of the Mother of God. In gr…
preview
Former Church of John Chrysostom at the First Theological School in Tambov
Many residents of Tambov are familiar with the beautiful old building at 2 Sergeeva-Tsenskii Street. This building is known as the former 19th school or sports school No. 3. Originally, it housed the First Tambov Theolog…
preview
House Church of St. Alexandra in Tambov State University
The house church in honor of the martyr Alexandra was opened at the Alexandrine Institute for Noble Maidens in 1843. This date is mentioned by P. Vereshchagin in his "Historical Essay on the Tambov Alexandrine Institute …
preview
Alexander Nevsky House Church at the Former Men's Gymnasium in Tambov
The Men's Gymnasium, the oldest secular educational institution in the Tambov province, traces its origins to a folk school founded in 1786 on the initiative of Governor G.R. Derzhavin. Education at this school lasted fo…