Church of St. Ignatius the Godbearer in Valuyki
The Church of St. Ignatius the Godbearer is an Orthodox church located on Mount Lysaya above the caves of the underground skete of the Valuyki Uspensky Nikolayevsky Monastery in the city of Valuyki, Belgorod Oblast.
The…
Cave Temple of St. Ignatius the Godbearer
One kilometer from the monastery, across the Oskol River, in the chalk mountains, there are caves that house a church dedicated to Ignatius the Godbearer. It is unknown who exactly began the creation of these caves, but …
Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Kazinka
The Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in the village of Kazinka was consecrated by Archbishop John of Belgorod and Stary Oskol on July 22, 2001.
In 1871, a wooden Kazan church was built in the village of Kaz…
Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross
The Exaltation Church, built in 1867 and expanded in 1869, is a stone building with two altars: the cold altar of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross and the warm altar of St. Sergius of Radonezh.
In 1901, the following se…
The Church of St. Theodore of Pechersk in Lavy
The Church of Theodore of Pechersk in the village of Lavy was built in 2007-2008 on the site of the destroyed wooden Nikolskaya church, which had existed since the mid-19th century.
According to legend, the village of L…
Archangel Michael Church in Podgornoe
On October 18, 2018, Oleg Polukhin, a deputy of the Belgorod Regional Duma, visited the Valuysky District to discuss the restoration of the Archangel Michael Church in the village of Podgornoe.
Participants in the discu…
Church of the Nativity of Christ in Rozhdestveno
The Church of the Nativity of Christ in the village of Rozhdestveno was built in 2008 on the site of a church that burned down in the 1970s. This church is considered one of the most beautiful wooden churches in the Belg…
Seven Lakes Bogoroditsky Monastery
The monastery was founded in 1613 by monk Euphemius, who moved from Veliky Ustyug and brought with him an icon of the Mother of God. This icon, later named Seven Lakes, became known in 1654 when, it is believed, it saved…
Cathedral of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God of the Seven Lakes Monastery
The Seven Lakes Monastery was founded in 1615 by monk Euphemius, who moved from Veliky Ustyug and brought with him an icon of the Mother of God. This icon, later named the Smolensk-Seven Lakes, became known in 1654 when …
Church of St. Euphemia the Great and St. Tikhon of Zadonsk
The venerable elder Gabriel, known as Gabriel Fyodorovich Zyryanov, approached the Kazan bishop with a request to build a new church in the monastery where the Psalter could be read continuously for the deceased. The chu…