preview
Meeting on the Elbe
On April 25, 1945, near Torgau on the Elbe River, the troops of the 1st Ukrainian Front met with units of the 1st U.S. Army. This meeting of the allies led to the division of the remaining German forces into northern and…
preview
A. S. Pushkin Literary Museum
The A. S. Pushkin Literary Museum in Vilnius, founded in 1949, is located in the former estate of the poet's son G. A. Pushkin and his wife V. A. Pushkina in the Markučiai district at Subačiaus Street 124. The museum is …
preview
Wrangel House in Brussels
A memorial plaque has been installed on the house in Brussels where one of the founders of the White movement, Pyotr Wrangel, spent his last days. The golden square plaque bears black letters in Russian and French statin…
preview
Funeral of Wrangel
Photographs from the funeral of Wrangel from the Hoover Archive can be found at the following link: https://digitalcollections.hoover.org/objects/59089/photographs-of-baron-p-vrangel-funeral-in-belgium.
preview
Razumovsky-Sheremetev House
The three-story building in the style of late classicism is located at the corner of Vozdvizhenska and Romanov Lane. Special attention is drawn to the corner domed rotunda with columns of the Tuscan order, whose pictures…
preview
House of Artists on Volkhonka
The building, constructed in the 1780s, originally served as a wing of the city estate of Alexei Naryshkin, who was a privy counselor, senator, and diplomat. The architect of the two-story wing was Elizaveta Nazarova, a …
preview
Postal-Telegraph Office
On October 2, 1897, a service was held at the building of the Penza postal and telegraph district management to mark the opening of telephone communication in Penza. The event was attended by Vice-Governor K.P. Pertzov, …
preview
Stalmeyster House
If you peek into the courtyard of house 7 on Malaya Znamenka Street, you can see a small three-story house. It has been freshly painted and looks festive. At first glance, it seems to be one of the courtyard buildings of…
preview
Income House of K.K. Mazing
The income house on Malaya Znamenskaya Lane was built in 1912 for the famous mathematician and educator Karl Karlovich Mazing, next to the Real School he headed. The Mazing family owned a significant plot of land in this…
preview
Match Factory
In the mid-19th century, match production began to develop in the Penza province. A resident of the village of Zasechnoe, Stepan Petrovich Kamendrovskiy, built a match factory in Nizhny Lomov in 1858. Soon after, the mer…