Battle of the Three Emperors
The Battle of Austerlitz, which took place on November 20 (December 2) 1805, became a key battle between Napoleon's army and the forces of the Third Anti-French Coalition. This event is known in history as the "Battle of…
Triangle Society
Maroseyka, 12, former home of the Triangle Society of Russian-American Rubber Manufacturing. If you closely examine the old photograph, you can notice this inscription on the building's pediment.
The building was constr…
Moscow's 1st Women's Gymnasium, 1874-1878
The four-story building on Strastnoy Boulevard was constructed between 1874 and 1878 based on the design of architect Nikolai Alexandrovich Tyutyunov. This is one of the first works of the architect, who is also known in…
Mark Twain in Yalta
Today marks a subtle yet significant date in the context of modern Russian-American relations. Exactly 155 years ago, in August 1867, a group of Americans arrived in Crimea on the steamboat "Quaker City." Among them was …
House at Malopodvalnaya 15
This house on Malopodvalnaya Street, 15 suddenly attracts attention. It seems that this is not just a building, but a real castle with Gothic windows and elegant doors. In Kyiv, everything is closely intertwined: this be…
Ramp at the Cameron Gallery
Tsarskoye Selo. The ramp at the Cameron Gallery was built so that Catherine II could be taken to the park in a wheelchair, as she had difficulty walking. In early 1792, Catherine II wished to have an additional descent t…
Romanovs in Dyulber 2015
Return after a century
On August 26, 2015, Prince Dmitry Romanovich, along with his wife, Princess Feodora Alexeyevna, visited the Dyulber Palace during an official visit to the Republic of Crimea. This visit held speci…
Museum of Priest Pavel Florensky
Pavel Florensky spent most of his life in his own house in Sergiev Posad, which he acquired in 1915. That same year, his family moved from Tiflis to Moscow to be near him. His mother, Olga Florenskaya, sisters Raisa and …
Alexey Kozlov's Club
At the corner of Bolshoy Zlatooustinsky Lane and Maroseyka Street in the 17th century stood the Little Russian Courtyard, which along with the tavern "Malorossiyskaya" gave the street its name, previously known as Pokrov…
Income House, Architect R.I. Klein
Currently, the site includes two properties that are monuments of history and culture in Moscow: the house of D.N. Sverbeyev at Strastnoy Boulevard, 6, and the income house of doctor L.E. Adelgeim at Bolshaya Dmitrovka S…