Polytechnic Museum
Information about the building
The construction of the Polytechnic Museum took place from 1871 to 1903, and its various parts were designed by architects Ippolit Monighetti, Nikolai Shokhin, Georgy Makaev, and others. T…
St. Nicholas Church in Kleniki
The small church on Maroseyka, squeezed between two massive buildings, stands out with its red facade and white details. In the early 20th century, this temple and its rector were known throughout Moscow.
The first chur…
Keler's Chocolate Shop
The income house on Nikolskaya Street belonged to Count Alexei Orlov-Davydov, who was the master of ceremonies at the imperial court and later became a deputy of the IV State Duma. The count lived in St. Petersburg and r…
Old Trading House
The Gostiny Dvor in Moscow, built in the late 18th and early 19th centuries, was the largest trading building of its time. Its arcades, adorned with half-columns of the Ionic order, created an impression of infinity and …
Church of Maxim the Blessed
Maxim the Blessed is known as the first Moscow fool for Christ. According to legend, he left home early and settled on Varvarka near the Church of Boris and Gleb, where he led an ascetic life. In summer and winter, he wa…
Brotherly Corps, 17th century.
The brotherly building of the 17th century is a stone house with a wooden roof, which housed two-story monastic cells. Its construction was completed by Kostroma masters Fyodor Grigoryev and Georgy Anisimov in 1684 and 1…
Church of George on Pskov Hill
Information about the building
During the time of Ivan Kalita, the area near the Kremlin actively developed into a settlement known as the Great Posad. It was then that the main layout of the streets was established, in…
Old Tsar's Court (Znamensky Monastery)
The bell tower was built between 1784 and 1789, and the Romanov Boyars' Chambers, dating back to the 16th-17th centuries, were restored by F. Richter in 1858-1859. The Znamensky Monastery Cathedral, erected between 1679 …
The wall of Kitai-Gorod with the lower part of the Barbarian Tower, 1534-1538.
Since 1534, the construction of fortifications was led by the Italian engineer Petrok Malyy, also known as Pyotr Maloy Fryazin. The need to create a new fortification complex arose due to the population growth in Moscow …
New Trading House
The name of the Trading House is associated with the concept of "guest," which in ancient times referred to merchants engaged in wholesale and international trade in Russia and who had special privileges. The first such …